India: No RT-PCR required to travel to these states

As COVID cases are declining in the country, several Indian states are also easing travel restrictions. While some states are not asking for RT-PCR tests anymore, several others are letting travellers enter, provided they are able to show proof of vaccination. However, these rules are also not permanent, and might change with time. So, before embarking on your journey, make sure that you check with all the official channels to ensure that you travel at ease. As of now, these are how some Indian states are welcoming travellers in their regions.

These are the Indian states that are allowing people to enter from other states without the RT-PCR test

  • Delhi
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Telangana
  • Haryana
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Karnataka
  • Andhra Pradesh

Do note that no RT-PCR test report or vaccine certificate is required to enter Tamil Nadu; however, if you are flying to Coimbatore from outside the state, certain airlines might advise you to carry a negative RT-PCR test that is not older than 72 hours before their departure.

Then, these are the states that will allow one without RT-PCR test, if they have received at least one dose of COVID vaccine.

  • Punjab
  • Chandigarh

Travelling to both the regions will need you to carry a COVID vaccination certificate, even if you have received just one dose. Else, you will be required to carry a negative RT-PCR test that was taken no less than 72 hours prior to their departure.

No RT-PCR test is required to enter these states, if you have taken both the jabs of COVID vaccine.

Odisha: You will need to show your final vaccination certificate to enter. If you don’t have the certificate, you will need a negative RT-PCR or antigen test report that has been taken not earlier than 48 hours prior to their departure.

Rajasthan: Those with a final COVID vaccination certificate, and have completed 28 days after taking their second jab, will not require a negative RT-PCR test to enter.

Chhattisgarh: You will either have to show a final vaccination certificate or a negative RT-PCR test taken no earlier than 96 hours before departure to enter this region.

Nagaland: All you need to visit Nagaland is to either have a final vaccination certificate or a negative RT-PCR test that has been taken no earlier than 72 hours before departure.

Meghalaya: All those arriving from any state except Delhi, Maharashtra, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, and West Bengal shall be exempt from showing COVID test reports if they are able to show their final COVID vaccination certificate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here